The National TOP 100 Trial Lawyers
America's Top 100 - Criminal Defense Attorneys
Avvo Reviews
Avvo Ratting 10.0 Top Attorney
Avvo Clients' Choice Award 2018
The University of Texas at Austin School of Law

Understanding DWI Laws in Texas

The Law Firm of Andrea M. Kolski

DWI Laws in Texas

Like many states, Texas has very strict laws when it comes to DWI, or Driving While Intoxicated, and the penalties can be devastating. If you are arrested for DWI, it’s not the time to take the law into your own hands. Your best bet will be retaining a skilled, experienced defense lawyer who specializes in DWI. Still, it helps to have a thorough understanding of what DWI means in Texas and what penalties you might face. An experienced Texas DWI lawyer will provide specific advice that pertains to your case, but here is a general overview of DWI in Texas.

Texas Definition of DWI


Driving drunk or under the influence of drugs is illegal in every state, but each state’s specific laws are slightly different. In Texas, the term “intoxicated” has two different meanings:

  • BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 percent or higher
  • Impaired mental or physical faculties due to the consumption of alcohol and/or drugs, even if your BAC is under the legal limit

For drivers under the legal alcohol consumption age of 21, any detectable amount of alcohol in the blood is prohibited, while commercial drivers aged 21 and over are limited to a BAC below .04 percent.

Intoxication Evidence

It’s important to know that while your blood, breath, or urine can and most likely will be checked for the presence of alcohol, you may be charged with DWI based on other evidence of intoxication even if you are below the legal limit. This is typically based on the arresting officer’s observations, such as the smell or physical presence of alcohol, your appearance and behavior, and your performance on one or more field sobriety tests.

DWI Penalties

Texas has escalating penalties for multiple DWIs, and judges have a fair amount of leeway within the sentencing guidelines. In general, your first DWI will be considered a Class B misdemeanor with jail time of 3 to 180 days, a fine of up to $2,000, and a license suspension of 90 to 365 days.

Penalties go up drastically for a second DWI, and by your third DWI, you are looking at potentially being charged with a felony and facing 10 years behind bars. Subsequent DWIs carry even harsher punishments, potentially 25 years to life if you are convicted again after serving two DWI jail terms.

Other factors can also increase DWI penalties, such as the presence of a child in your vehicle, a very high BAC (.15 or above), an open container, or any injury or death that you cause while intoxicated.

Drivers under the age of 21 are prohibited from having any detectable alcohol in their system. A first offense typically carries probation, fines, license suspension, community service, alcohol education, and other penalties, but generally no jail time. However, if the same minor is convicted again, penalties quickly escalate, and the second or subsequent DWI for a minor will very likely carry a jail sentence.

Refusing Chemical Testing

Texas law holds that by operating a motor vehicle, you have given implied consent to chemical testing for alcohol or drugs. Therefore, your license will be automatically suspended 40 days after your refusal, for a period of 90 days to two years, unless you request an administrative hearing within 15 days of your refusal.

DWI Education and Intervention Programs

First-time DWI offenders may be placed on probation in lieu of or in addition to jail time, and must attend a 12-hour DWI education program. The course must be completed with 180 days of the time probation starts, or your license will be revoked.

Repeat DWI offenders are likely to be placed in a 32-hour DWI intervention program along with their penalties. This is a more in-depth program designed to encourage repeat offenders to seek treatment for their alcohol or drug issues. You must complete the program, or your license will be revoked.

Those who are under 21 and are convicted of DWI are normally ordered to complete either an alcohol education program for minors or community service. Whichever is ordered, it must be completed within 90 days to avoid a six-month license suspension.

In addition, the judge may order you to install an ignition interlock device on your car. In this case, you will also have a restriction placed on your license that authorizes you to drive only vehicles with this type of device.

Texas DWI laws are complicated, and tend to side with the arresting officer. Because a DWI charge carries harsh consequences, it is vital to hire a DWI attorney immediately after your arrest. Your attorney can help you request appropriate hearings, communicate with court officials, negotiate a plea deal, and in some cases, even have the charges reduced or dropped. With so much at stake, choose an experienced lawyer with a proven track record of success.

Montgomery Texas Defense Attorney Andrea M. Kolski is past President of the Montgomery County Criminal Defense Lawyer’s Association and has been defending the accused for over 20 years in Texas courts. If you or a loved one are in trouble with the law, you want the best, most aggressive attorney fighting on your behalf. Andrea Kolski’s record of success is second to none and is highly respected among her peers. For more information or to schedule a consultation, contact our office or call us at 832-381-3430.

Visit Us

By Appointment Only - Contact Us

The Woodlands Office
8505 Technology Forest Pl #104

The Woodlands, TX 77381

Phone: 832-381-3430

Get in Touch

Free Consultation 832-381-3430

What Our Customers Say

"Andrea is a fantastic attorney versed in many fields. I've retained her services for criminal defense, nondisclosure orders, and family law. She has always provided a...

Steven Street Texas

"Andrea and her staff are definitely one of the greatest of all time. Their professionalism and knowledge of the law and how the system works is unparalleled. I have her...

Dwight Osteen Texas

“Andrea is the most amazing attorney I have ever had in my corner.” — Vincent, client facing 2nd DWI charge, CASE DISMISSED