The minute you are arrested for drunk driving, you need a drunk driving attorney. If you wait until your first court appearance or worse, wait to see what happens next, you may be a day late and a dollar short.
Drunk driving (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) are serious criminal matters in Texas. If you hire a drunk driving defense attorney, we can help you put the pieces of your life together again.
Drunk Driving in Conroe or Montgomery County
Whether you use a public defender for your drunk driving offense or you hire a drunk driving defense attorney, legal representation is the key to unlocking the rest of your life.
You cannot scoff or ignore DWI and DUI laws in Texas. They are tough and do not bend for anyone.
DWI's in Montgomery County have 2,000 - 2,500 cases filed on average annually. In fact, it is Montgomery County's largest criminal offense.
Now that you are a drunk driving defendant you need to know what the legal range of punishment is for your crime.
What is the Range of Punishment for Drunk Driving in Texas?
Some of the punishments for drunk driving for driving under the influence are as follows:
Jailtime from 72 hours to six months (12 months if your blood alcohol concentration or BAC is more than .15%)
Fines up to $2,000 (or $4,000 with a BAC of more than.15%)
License Suspension of 90 days - 12 months.
Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to keep driver license
Ignition Interlock Device (IDD) - only if you receive permission from the court to obtain an 'occupational license' to be used only to go to work.
After Your First Texas DWI Offense, the Punishment Range Can be Severe
If you have been arrested for your second, third or more criminal drunk driving case, the range of punishment grows in terms of severity.
Jail time of 30 days to 12 months
Up to a $4,000 fine
License suspension for up to 2 years.
Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to keep driver license
Ignition Interlock Device (Only if you receive permission from the court to obtain an 'occupational license' to be used only to go to work) for 1 year (with a prior conviction within 5 years)
Jail time from 2 years to 10 years
Up to a $10,000 fine
License Suspension for up to 2 years.
Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to keep driver license
Ignition Interlock Device as detailed above
How Can You Help Yourself When Faced with a Drunk Driving Charge?
Your life will seem like it is on hold while you wait to go through all the legal steps of a drunk driving charge.
In many ways, your life is on hold. But hiring a drunk driving attorney will give you guidance and information you need about the criminal justice process.
What's more, a good drunk driving attorney can help you by caring and explaining the process to you. A criminal drunk driving defense attorney also serves another very important purpose. This professional will help you understand and meet your pre-trial conditions and regulations.
If You Decide to Represent Yourself
When you are trying to figure out DUI or DWI lawyer costs it is important to remember how high the legal stakes are.
Hiring a drunk driving lawyer can help you arrange terms of a plea bargain, reduce jail time, fines, or other conditions the court may impose.
It is possible to represent yourself, especially if you meet the conditions of:
This is your first offense
There were no injuries
If you are representing yourself in court and plead no contest or guilty to your first DWI offense, there is usually a standard sentence of administrative penalties and fines.
This means you can still look at fines, punishment, license suspension and the Ignition Interlock Device on your car to go to and from work.
It's Not Just About the Legal Process
The statistics on drunk driving in Texas are not good. About every 20 minutes someone is hurt or killed in a drunk driving accident.
Yet, people continue to drink too much and then get in a car and drive. What is not always understood is depending on your body height and weight, you can be arrested and charged with legal intoxication after two beers in an hour.
Understanding the criminal justice system when charged with drunk driving is imperative. For instance, did you know you have the right to refuse a breathalyzer when you are stopped by the police for suspected drunk driving?
An attorney who cares about you and explains the legal steps from the time you are arrested has a value that cannot be measured.
Hire a Drunk Driving Attorney Today
Texas drunk driving laws are tough, and the court is probably not going to cut you any slack.
When you are faced with legal unknowns there is no way to measure your fear and confusion. You understand what happens next is going to affect the rest of your life, job, and personal life.
It is important to have a legal advocate standing beside you every step of the way.
The Time to Act is Now
One of the hardest issues you may deal with is knowing your family is going through the criminal justice system with you.
Once hired, a drunk driving attorney helps explain the legal steps and process to your family as well as you. This can give great comfort and ease in some of the fears.
We are just one phone call or email away and we want to be there for you. We do not stop until you are across the finish line and limit your legal exposure.
We will be there for you and your family until we have the best results possible. Defending our clients from their criminal charge is what we do best. The reason why we do it is that we care about what happens with our defendants and their families.